Jump to content
  • Priority Old Growth Deferral Areas

    This map (courtesy of Nick Gottlieb) shows the location of priority deferral areas nominated by the Technical Advisory Panel (TAP) for 2-year temporary deferrals. Three types of forest are indicated: Big Treed Old Forest (pink), Rare Forest (blue) and Ancient Forest (brown).

    The ministry of forests has included on this same map areas in protected areas, like provincial parks, that also have one or more of these three types of old forest in them. So, unfortunately, the ministry's map is quite misleading. A large portion of the Big Treed Old Forest (pink) is already protected.

  • Create New...